Government of South Africa declared the National State of Disaster

President Cyril Ramaphosa addressed the nation on Sunday night announcing a range of measures to try and stem the Covid-19 epidemic.

Watch social media video post below:

Shortly after the president spoke this important point was released.

As of Sunday 15 March 2020 infected individuals numbers clumbed to 61. Internal Transmission is occurring.

South African’s should limit contact between persons.
The president announced a travel ban from high-risk countries.

As of 18 March 2020, South Africans are to refrain from travelling to:

The United Kingdom, the United States, Europe, China, Iran and South Koreas.

People who visited high-risk countries as of mid-February – are required to present for testing
South Africa has 72 ports of entry via land, sea and airport

There are 53 land ports, 35 of them shut down as of Monday
Two out of 8 seaports closed for passengers
Non-essential travel prohibited
Non-essential domestic travel to be stopped


. Limit contact between groups of people
. Gatherings of more than 100 are prohibited
. All mass celebrations during public holidays cancelled
. Organisers to put in place stringent measures for less-than-100-people events

Schools will be closed from Wednesday, 18 March 2020
Schools will remain closed till after Easter


. Mining, retail banking & farming to introduce measures for hygiene control
. Shopping Malls and Entertainment centres to bolster hygiene control

Citizens to Change behaviour regarding hygiene:

. Wash hands frequently with soap and water or hand sanitisers for a minimum of 20 seconds
. Cover nose and mouth when you cough or sneeze, cover with a tissue or flexed elbow

image screenshot from live-stream- Cyril demonstrates greeting to avoid touching hands and minimizing physical contact- the elbow greeting.

. Avoid anyone with flu-like symptoms
. Minimise physical contact
. Use the elbow greeting, no shaking hands

Main picture screen shot /Twitter /cyrilramaphosa.